Monday, June 29, 2009

Avett Brothers: New Album Info & More

The Avett Brothers recently rolled through St Louis, and from all accounts it was a joy to see. Long-time readers know I am a big fan. Would have been there myself, but I had a scheduling conflict with the So Many Dynamos in-store at Vintage Vinyl. The new release is produced by Rick Rubin and will be here on September 29. Here is the finalized track listing:

1. I and Love and You
2. January Wedding
3. Head Full of Doubt, Road Full of Promise
4. And it Spread
5. The Perfect Space
6. Ten Thousand Words
7. Kick Drum Heart
8. Laundry Room
9. Ill with Want
10. Tin Man
11. Slight Figure of Speech
12. It Goes On and On
13. Incomplete and Insecure

The Avetts have also released the artwork for the album, an oil painting by Scott Avett called Julianne In Vain., which I have added to this post for your eyes to take a gander at. Not exactly a light-hearted painting, but very cool that these guys can even paint. As if music wasn't enough!

And I'm very happy to direct you to NPR, where you can see the Avett Brothers perform three songs as part of the Tiny Desk Concert Series. One new one from the album, one so new that it hasn't been recorded yet, and one older song. It's good stuff, and even the guys in the office seem to feed off the band's energy and charisma. Here's the set list: "Laundry Room", "Down With the Shine", and "Bella Donna".

And download the new single here, while you still can.

No comments: