Sunday, August 8, 2010

Pokey LaFarge & The South City Three: Hard times Come And Go

another reason to be proud of the music coming out of STL, Pokey LaFarge is the real deal. Fresh off a set at the prestigious Newport Folk Festival, here's their latest video:

Pokey LaFarge & The South City Three "Hard Times Come and Go" from Filipe Bessa on Vimeo.



And the first video from their latest album, Riverboat Soul, the song La La Blues:

Pokey LaFarge & The South City Three "La La Blues" from Filipe Bessa on Vimeo.



Here's some dates. These boys are busy spreading the word:
Today
2:00 PM Brighton, England | The Prince Albert
Wednesday, August 11, 2010
2:00 PM Topsham, England | The Globe
Thursday, August 12, 2010
2:00 PM Pulborough, England | Blue Coconut Club
Friday, August 13, 2010
2:00 PM West Ashling, England | West Ashling Village Hall
Saturday, August 14, 2010
2:00 PM Nottingham, England | The Maze
Sunday, August 15, 2010
2:00 PM Leicester, England | Summer Sundae Festival
Tuesday, August 17, 2010
2:00 PM Edinburgh, Scotland | Acoustic Music Centre @ St Bride’s (Edinburgh Fringe Festival)
Wednesday, August 18, 2010
2:00 PM Edinburgh, Scotland | Acoustic Music Centre @ St Bride’s (Edinburgh Fringe Festival)
Thursday, August 19, 2010
2:00 PM Edinburgh, Scotland | Acoustic Music Centre @ St Bride’s (Edinburgh Fringe Festival)
Friday, August 20, 2010
2:00 PM Findhorn, Scotland | Universal Hall Arts Centre
Saturday, August 21, 2010
2:00 PM Stornoway, Scotland | An Lanntair
Sunday, August 22, 2010
2:00 PM Inverness, Scotland | Eden Court Theatre
Wednesday, August 25, 2010
2:30 PM London, England | The Luminaire
Friday, August 27, 2010
All Day Event Tonder, Denmark | Tonder Festival
Saturday, August 28, 2010
All Day Event Tonder, Denmark | Tonder Festival
Sunday, August 29, 2010
All Day Event Tonder, Denmark | Tonder Festival
Monday, August 30, 2010
All Day Event Tonder, Denmark | Tonder Festival
Tuesday, August 31, 2010
2:00 PM Buckinghamshire, England | The Hop Pole Inn, Aylesbury
Wednesday, September 1, 2010
2:30 PM Norwich, England | Norwich Arts Centre
Thursday, September 2, 2010
2:00 PM Stirling, Scotland | The Tolbooth
Friday, September 3, 2010
2:00 PM Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England | The Jumpin Hot Club
Saturday, September 4, 2010
2:00 PM Peebles, Scotland | Eastgate Theatre
Sunday, September 5, 2010
2:00 PM Neilston, Scotland | Crofthead Hall
Monday, September 6, 2010
2:00 PM Glasgow, Scotland | Classic Grand
Tuesday, September 7, 2010
2:00 PM Kilbarchan, Scotland | The Old Library
Wednesday, September 8, 2010
2:00 PM Dunfermline, Fife, Scotland | Carnegie Hall
Friday, September 10, 2010
All Day Event Belfast, Northern Ireland | Open House Festival
Saturday, September 11, 2010
All Day Event Belfast, Northern Ireland | Open House Festival
Sunday, September 12, 2010
All Day Event Belfast, Northern Ireland | Open House Festival
Monday, September 13, 2010
2:30 PM Clonmel, Co Tipperary, Ireland | Raheen House Hotel
Thursday, September 23, 2010
8:00 PM Farmington, MO | Bauhaus Kaffee
Saturday, September 25, 2010
9:30 AM St. Louis, MO | Tower Grove Park
7:00 PM Carbondale, IL | Neighborhood Co-op & Grocery Local Harvest Picnic, Turley Park
Friday, October 8, 2010
8:00 PM St. Louis, MO | Off Broadway w/ Two Man Gentleman Band & the Hot Seats

Saturday, October 9, 2010
8:00 PM Louisville, KY | Zanzibar w/ Two Man Gentleman Band & the Hot Seats
Sunday, October 10, 2010
8:00 PM Fort Wayne, IN | Brass Rail w/ Two Man Gentleman Band & the Hot Seats
Tuesday, October 12, 2010
8:00 PM Harrisburg, PA | Der Maennerchor
Friday, October 15, 2010
7:00 PM Nazareth, PA | Christians Spring Hotel w/ Two Man Gentleman Band & the Hot Seats
Saturday, October 16, 2010
8:00 PM Brooklyn, NY | Southpaw w/ Two Man Gentleman Band & the Hot Seats
Tuesday, October 19, 2010
7:00 PM Sheperdstown, WV | The Opera House
Wednesday, October 20, 2010
8:00 PM Velvet Lounge w/ the Hot Seats
Thursday, October 21, 2010
8:00 PM Richmond, VA | The Camel w/ Two Man Gentleman Band and the Hot Seats
Saturday, October 23, 2010
8:00 PM Private Event
Sunday, October 24, 2010
8:00 PM Nashville, TN, The 5 Spot w/ Jacob Jones

WEEE! Gonads And Strife.

from a time when the internets was a simpler, but just as crude, place:

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Cheap Trick, Blondie, Coming To Illinois State Fair Together

It's just like I was in high school in the eighties again! God bless bands that are in it for the long haul. Here's the date: Friday, August 20, Springfield Illinois. And here's some great songs to remind you of why you may want to make the short trek to see these bands.



Well, I could go on and on with Cheap Trick. But here's some Blondie:
Oh, they're on EMI Records, and EMI doesn't want you to see these videos here. They would rather have you seek them out, and watch them only in official channels. Sorry Blondie, your record company sucks.

LL Cool J Meets Kevin Rowland

You may know Kevin from Dexy's Midnight Runners, and the song "Come On Eileen". Here's what happens when you add that song with "Mama Said Knock You Out":

Quite nice, I think. And here's the original source material, for all the purists out there:

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Pavement: Cut Your Hair

I've always been hot and cold about Pavement. Mostly cold, though.

There are times when the shambling dissonance came together to create a gem, and Cut Your Hair is one of those moments. And I had forgotten how much low-key fun this video was. In honor of their recent Pitchfork Festival appearance here it is:

Monday, July 19, 2010

The Happiest DJ In The World

He indeed looks to be enjoying himself:

Thursday, July 1, 2010

Jozin z Bazin polskie napisy

Something to get you through your Thursday:

Monday, June 28, 2010

The Summer Mix Series Has Returned


Although it can sometimes feel like you are trying to get a drink from a firehose, one of the joys of summer is the return of the Summer Mix Series, from the creator of the very nice blog, Yewknee. New mixes are being added throughout every day of the summer, and there are some inspired themes. Poke around, and download some stuff you may have never heard before. Click here to unleash the torrent.

Friday, June 25, 2010

My Speakers Need To Go LOUDER

Because that's the only way to listen to the Dead Weather: As loud as possible. Here's the newest video:

Flaming Lips Coming To The Blue Note In Columbia

September 18, 2010. Tickets go on sale Saturday, through Ticketmaster, at 1 PM. Coming to STL the Friday before?

End of transmission.

WOOGITY WOOGITY WOO HOO!

Monday, June 21, 2010

Tonight: Blitzen Trapper At Off Broadway

You have two opportunities to see Blitzen Trapper tonight. The first is at Vintage Vinyl, at 6 PM, and this is your opportunity to see them for the low, low price of free! And then, later tonight, at Off Broadway, they will be playing with the Moondoggies from Seattle opening for them. Perhaps one is thinking about catching them at both places, being a BT glutton. I say I like the cut of your jib. Make it so.


Not in STL? Here are some other dates:
Mon 06/21/10
St. Louis, MO Off Broadway Nightclub
Tue 06/22/10
Kansas City, MO The Record Bar
Thu 06/24/10
Aspen, CO Belly Up Aspen

Appearing at "Telluride Wine Festival"
Sat 06/26/10
Telluride, CO Telluride Town Park

Mon 06/28/10 T
Tempe, AZ The Clubhouse Music Venue
Tue 06/29/10
Los Angeles, CA El Rey Theatre
Wed 06/30/10
San Francisco, CA The Fillmore

Appearing at "High Sierra Music Festival"
Thu 07/01/10
Quincy, CA Plumas County Fairgounds

Fri 07/02/10
Quincy, CA Plumas County Fairgounds

Appearing with Avi Buffalo
Fri 07/23/10
Portland, OR McMenamins Crystal Ballroom

Appearing with "Capitol Hill Block Party"
Sat 07/24/10
Seattle, WA Capitol Hill Festival Grounds

Appearing with Avi Buffalo
Tue 07/27/10
Minneapolis, MN First Avenue
Wed 07/28/10
Milwaukee, WI Turner Hall Ballroom

Appearing at "Beachland Concert Series"
Thu 07/29/10
Cleveland, OH Beachland Ballroom & Tavern

Appearing at "Newport Folk Festival"
Sat 07/31/10
Newport, RI Fort Adams State Park

Appearing at "Osheaga Festival"
Sun 08/01/10
Montreal, QC Parc Jean Drapeau

Appearing with Avi Buffalo
Tue 08/03/10
Toronto, ON Opera House Concert Venue
Wed 08/04/10
Detroit, MI The Majestic
Thu 08/05/10
Indianapolis, IN The Vogue

Appearing at "Lollapalooza" / Soundgarden
Sun 08/08/10
Chicago, IL Grant Park

Tue 08/10/10
Iowa City, IA Gabe's
Wed 08/11/10
Lincoln, NE Bourbon Theatre
Thu 08/12/10
Denver, CO Ogden Theatre
Thu 11/11/10
Muenster, Germany Gleis 22
Fri 11/12/10
Berlin, Germany Comet Club
Mon 11/15/10
Munich, Germany Kranhalle
Thu 11/18/10
Cologne, Germany Blue Shell

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

New Klaxons: Is The Music Good?


With an album cover like that, who cares?

The Devo-lution Will Be Televised. On Youtube.

Devo has a new Youtube 'reality' series, and it is a lot of fun:

You're going to be seeing these guys a lot here lately, I have a feeling. And that's OK with me.
See them tonight on the Colbert Report, too.

Devo On Letterman

In case you missed it last night, here's Devo doing one from their new album Something For Everybody:

And yes, they do sound "fresh".

Now someone make sure they come to STL. Please?

Josh Ritter: The Curse

One of the better new releases this year has been Josh Ritter's new album, So Runs The World Away. And now he has a nice video to accompany it, for the song The Curse.

It's your typical mummy comes to life, falls in love with a pretty archeologist. But wait! Before you say "yeah, who hasn't written a song about THAT?", please note that the video is a gem performed all by puppets! And the video was created by Josh's drummer, Liam Hurly, who is also a puppeteer. It's a great, deceptively simple video:

You can read more about the creation of the video over at NPR, where they have a nice description from Liam.

Sunday, June 13, 2010

Norah Jones Covers The Kinks At Bonnaroo

Well, this was a welcome surprise. I admit to liking the Kinks but never truly falling head over heels for them. This cover version sounds more like a lost piece of Americana, something from the Band's discography, rather than a track from an English rock act. Here's the song "Strangers", which was originally released on the album "Picture Book"

She sounds good, doesn't she? Here's the lyrics:

Where are you going I don't mind
I've killed my world and I've killed my time
So where do I go what do I see
I see many people coming after me
So where are you going to I don't mind
If I live too long I'm afraid I'll die
So I will follow you wherever you go
If your offered hand is still open to me
Strangers on this road we are on
We are not two we are one
So you've been where I've just come
From the land that brings losers on
So we will share this road we walk
And mind our mouths and beware our talk
'Till peace we find tell you what I'll do
All the things I own I will share with you
If I feel tomorrow like I feel today
We'll take what we want and give the rest away
Strangers on this road we are on
We are not two we are one
Holy man and holy priest
This love of life makes me weak at my knees
And when we get there make your play
'Cos soon I feel you're gonna carry us away
In a promised lie you made us believe
For many men there is so much grief
And my mind is proud but it aches with rage
And if I live too long I'm afraid I'll die
Strangers on this road we are on
We are not two we are one
Strangers on this road we are on
We are not two we are one

Sage Francis: The Best Of Times

Li(f)e, by Sage Francis, is a very good release that came out a couple of weeks ago. Here's a key track from the album, The Best Of Times:

Sage Francis has a handful of dates in the States before heading off to Europe. The closest he has come to St. Louis was in May, when he came to the Blue Note in Columbia. It doesn't seem like we get many of the indie rappers here, which is a shame. I'd like to check out more of these types of shows:
Dallas, TX - Granada Theatre - 6/14/10
Austin, TX - Mohawk - 6/15/10
Houston, TX - House of Blues - 6/16/10
Orlando, FL - Club at Firestone - 6/18/10
Atlanta, GA - The Loft - 6/19/10
Carrboro, NC - Cat's Cradle - 6/21/10
Washington, DC - Rock and Roll Hotel - 6/22/10
Baltimore, MD - The Ottobar - 6/23/10
Philadelphia, PA - Trocadero - 6/24/10
New York, NY - Webster Hall - 6/25/10
Rap oftern gets categorized as simple-minded. It is, and can be, so much more in the right hands. I think Sage is a perfect example of a person using the musical form to get across his ideas and personality. Here's the song Got Up This Morning. As a sidenote, the video also has Buck 65 as one of his card-playing buddies, and Jolie Holland sings the female parts.

Friday, June 4, 2010

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

One For My Baby

Johnny Mercer was a classic songwriter. It's interesting to compare Fred Astaire to Dean Martin, the different takes on the song. Fred is surprisingly dark with his take, and Dean is, well, Dean. The guy ALWAYS looked like he was having fun. No breaking champagne glasses for him.

The Astaire clip has about 4 minutes of his film, superfluous for this comparison, but the best clip I could find.


I wasn't around when these songs, these versions, were released. But I still feel a pang, realizing that they are slowly slipping away. And by 'they' I mean all of these songs that were before our time. The obsession with 'what's next' at the expense of what came before is a crime.

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

New Video (Or Is It The Only Video?) From Don Bailey, Called American Inspiration

Here's a song that I helped shoot and edit the video for. Not bad I guess, considering it was shot on a Panasonic home video camera, with an American flag, a bunch of hats, and a work light.

From the description under the video:
"America, look how far we've come..."
A protest song wrapped up in a patriotic message from Don Bailey, AKA the band BOB from Millstadt, Illinois. Don wanted to comment on today's government shenanigans, but also remind us that things aren't that bad. The hats represent a wide survey of American workers affected by a constantly changing world.

BOB's been around for a while, and they play good honest music. I wonder if they've ever played Twangfest... Here you go:

Buck 65 - The Lost Tapes DVD - Trailer


Well, I'm a sucker for our Canadian friend, Buck 65, so I'm sure I'll spend months trying to track this DVD down before finally giving up and just ordering the damn thing. Up there's the trailer.

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

MC Chris Takes On Twin Peaks

"This pie's so good, it's a crime".

I remember having friends over to watch this cool, messed-up show. We couldn't believe it was on TV. Before the explosion of cable shows like 'The Sopranos', when all the other shows were 'Love Baot', 'Full House', it was a kick to the head, all orchestrated by Mr. David Lynch.

And when I was looking up MC Chris, seeing what's been up with him lately, I stumbled upon this. Makes me want some pie.

Monday, May 17, 2010

Goodbye, Ronnie James Dio. 1942-2010





I'll always remember you slaying the dragon at the old Keil. You were a little too short so the dragon had to stoop down to receive your sword.

Friday, May 14, 2010

Rush: Beyond The Lighted Stage


Don't know how I got caught sleeping on this one. Looks like there is a documentary on Rush coming out in theaters in Europe, and it will screen in the States on VH1 on June 26. As Gene Simmons says in the trailer, "What kind of band is Rush? Its... RUSH."

I'll be seeing them when they come to STL, and I'm looking forward to hearing Moving Pictures in it's entirety. Here's the tour schedule (for the band. Not the movie):
Tue 06/29/10 Albuquerque, NM The Pavilion
Thu 07/01/10 Kansas City, MO Starlight Theatre

Appearing at "Summerfest"
Sat 07/03/10 Milwaukee, WI Marcus Amphitheater

Mon 07/05/10 Chicago, IL Charter One Pavilion @ Northerly Island
Wed 07/07/10 Chicago, IL Charter One Pavilion @ Northerly Island

Appearing at "Sarnia Bayfest"
Fri 07/09/10 Sarnia, ON Centennial Park

Appearing at "Cisco Ottawa Bluesfest"
Sun 07/11/10 Ottawa, ON Lebreton Flats Park

Tue 07/13/10 Toronto, ON Molson Canadian Amphitheatre

Appearing at "Festival D'ete de Quebec"
Thu 07/15/10 Quebec City, QC Various Venues

Sat 07/17/10 Toronto, ON Air Canada Centre

Mon 07/19/10 Uncasville, CT Mohegan Sun Arena
Wed 07/21/10 Camden, NJ Susquehanna Bank Center
Fri 07/23/10 Saratoga Springs, NY Saratoga Performing Arts Center
Sat 07/24/10 Wantagh, NY Nikon At Jones Beach Theater
Thu 08/05/10 Salt Lake City, UT Usana Amphitheatre
Sat 08/07/10 Auburn, WA White River Amphitheatre
Mon 08/09/10 Mountain View, CA Shoreline Amphitheatre
Wed 08/11/10 Inglewood, CA The Forum
Fri 08/13/10 Irvine, CA Verizon Wireless Amphitheater
Sat 08/14/10 Las Vegas, NV MGM Grand Garden Arena
Mon 08/16/10 Morrison, CO Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Wed 08/18/10 Morrison, CO Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Fri 08/20/10 Wichita, KS INTRUST Bank Arena
Sun 08/22/10 Maryland Heights, MO Verizon Wireless Amph. St. Louis
Wed 08/25/10 Omaha, NE Qwest Center Omaha

Appearing at "Minnesota State Fair"
Fri 08/27/10 Saint Paul, MN MN State Fairgrounds

Sun 08/29/10 Columbus, OH Nationwide Arena

Appearing at "The Great Allentown Fair"
Tue 08/31/10 Allentown, PA Allentown Fairgrounds

Appearing at "New York State Fair"
Thu 09/02/10 Syracuse, NY New York State Fairgrounds

Fri 09/03/10 Holmdel, NJ PNC Bank Arts Center
Tue 09/14/10 Boston, MA TD Garden
Thu 09/16/10 Pittsburgh, PA Consol Energy Center
Sat 09/18/10 Bristow, VA Jiffy Lube Live
Tue 09/21/10 Tulsa, OK BOK Center
Thu 09/23/10 San Antonio, TX AT&T Center
Sat 09/25/10 The Woodlands, TX The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
Sun 09/26/10 Dallas, TX Superpages.com Center
Wed 09/29/10 Alpharetta, GA Verizon Wireless Amph. At Encore Park
Fri 10/01/10 Tampa, FL Ford Amphitheatre @ State Fairgrounds
Sat 10/02/10 West Palm Beach, FL Cruzan Amphitheatre

Friday Flashback: Love And Rockets

Ah, I still remember catching this on '120 Minutes' the Sunday night alternative music video show on MTV:

I also remember the Eyes tearing it up on this song, all dry ice and sweat, at Kennedy's on the Landing, with the bouncing under us.

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Tonight! KDHX's Midwest Mayhem!


Well, it's finally here. And what a fun venue for this little mini-fest: the City Museum! If you're not from here, and if you ever come to STL, do yourself a favor and check this place out. Here's the schedule. I'm excited to see the Funky Butt Brass Band, they have been on my list forever to see.


Monday, May 10, 2010

What's Better Than A Hat? Two Hats.

Here's Curtis Plum, with "More Than One Hat".

Saturday, May 8, 2010

Tool Coming To Family Arena

Saturday, June 26 at the Family Arena. Oh, yes. I have my tickets.



Here's the rest of the tour dates:
2010 12 Jul SAN FRANCISCO, CA
2010 09 Jul VANCOUVER, BC
2010 07 Jul EDMONTON, AB
2010 05 Jul REGINA. SK
2010 04 Jul Winnipeg
2010 01 Jul ST. PAUL, MN
2010 26 Jun ST. CHARLES, MO
2010 25 Jun KANSAS CITY, MO
2010 23 Jun OKLAHOMA CITY, OK t
2010 22 Jun CEDAR PARK, TX
2010 20 Jun HOUSTON, TX
2010 19 Jun New Orleans, LA

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

New Spring Videos

Here are some videos Entertainment Weekly says are vying for the summer anthem of 2010. See any that fit the bill?




Hey, Jack Johnson has hair!

AHHHH! Creepy panda clowns! Has kinda an eighties vibe to it, to my ears:

Shitty song. I hope this isn't the summer anthem:



Well, most of these songs are marginal at best. At least the Foxy Shazam guy is over the top in his presentation. I vote for "Drunk Girls". If any of these other songs become THE summer anthem of '10, we have even less taste than I gave us credit for.

Monday, May 3, 2010

The Hold Steady On Letterman

Did anyone catch this on Friday? Dave obviously likes this band a lot, and was really complimentary after they performed "The Weekenders" from the new release (coming out tomorrow!) "Heaven is Whenever".

There have been many comparisons to Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, but if you listen to the lyrics, you might hear a bit of Warren Zevon in there. Letterman loved Zevon, so it makes sense that he would like the literate rock of the Hold Steady. Me, I'm thinking it's nice that the songs aren't as fussy and overwrought as they struck me with past albums. Things don't stray too far from the Hold Steady template, but there is a bit more directness that I like. And that's a nice guitar solo, too:

Frank's Back. And All The Bikini-Clad Ladies Want Him.


I'm not sure what happened, but after quite a few years in the margins, the Black Keys are starting to gain back some buzz. It isn't the dinosaur that's doing it. Maybe the songs are a notch better than before?

Here's some tour dates:
May 20 – Madison Square Garden, New York, NY
May 25 – Late Show with David Letterman, New York, NY
May 26 – Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, New York, NY
June 2 – The Depot, Salt Lake City, UT
June 3 – The Fillmore, Denver, CO
June 4 – The Crossroads, Kansas City, MO
June 8 – First Ave, Minneapolis, MN
June 9 – First Ave, Minneapolis, MN
June 10 – The Pagaent, St. Louis, MO
June 11 – Bonnaroo, Manchester, TN
July 27-28 – Central Park SummerStage New York, NY

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Sunday, April 25, 2010

Guitar Wizard

How did I stumble across this wonderful clip of Roy Clark absolutely shredding his acoustic guitar? And a clip of it all happening during an old Odd Couple episode?

And then I wonder what Roy thinks about his Hee-Haw days, a show I vividly remember enjoying as a kid, but not exactly putting the country 'yokels' in a great light.

The guy can play guitar, and that may have gotten eclipsed with all that extra hooey. he came to one of the casinos here in the last year or so. I should have gone.

Thursday, April 22, 2010

What's Your Wu-Tang Name?

Click here to find out.
Mine's 'Insane Observer', bee-aytch.

Friday, April 16, 2010

Saturday: Record Store Day

I'm not sure how this day, designed to spotlight the importance and magic of the dwindling number of independent record stores that dot this vast land, does in other cities. But it's become a fun day here in the STL area. I'll be spending most of my time at Euclid Records, but Apop and Vintage also have some great stuff going on. Here's the schedule of events, with some lifting off of the wonderful A To Z RFT Blog:

Apop Records
2831 Cherokee Street
*Free beer thanks to New Belgium
*BBQ (veggie included)
*A photobooth
*Freezerburn Industries' Mr. Ben's RSD-only music zine, with a DVD of local Lepers TV footage
*Between-band DJs Jeff Hess (KDHX's Wednesday Afternoon Delight) & Jeremy Kannappell (Ghost Ice)
Performances!
1 p.m. Pretty Little Empire
1:45 p.m. SKR (SkakreKrau Radio)
2:30 p.m. Burn The Mute
3:15 p.m. .e
3:45 p.m. Bob Reuter
4:15 p.m. Egg Chef
4:45 p.m. Half Gay
5:30 p.m. Maximum Effort
6:15 p.m. Shaved Women
6:45 p.m. Strangulated Beatoffs
7:30 p.m. Glowdick


Euclid Records
601 East Lockwood
*A store-wide sale, with 10 percent off "virtually everything in the store," they say
*A sidewalk sale
Performances!
Noon: Luca Brasi
1 p.m.: 33 on the Needle
2 p.m. Adoring Heirs
3 p.m. Art Majors
4 p.m. Finn's Motel
5 p.m. Sleepy Kitty
6 p.m. Troubadour Dali
7 p.m. The Bottle Rockets

Vintage Vinyl
6610 Delmar Boulevard
In addition to the limited-edition "Don't Quit Your Day Job!" employee compilation for sale, VV will have free PBR and Monster Energy Drink.
Guest DJs:
12 p.m. Kevin Johnson (Post-Dispatch)
1 p.m. Christian Schaeffer (Riverfront Times)
2 p.m. Donnie Fandango (KPNT)
3 p.m. DJ Coreyography
4 p.m. Tom "Papa" Ray (KDHX, Vintage Vinyl)
5 p.m. Sylvester The Cat (KDHX)
6 p.m. Eric Hall (www.myspace.com/ehallstl)
7 p.m. Anacrusis (http://anacrusis.us/)

Live music under the store's marquee:

12 p.m. Felili
1 p.m. Blondiegrunt (St. Louis)
2 p.m. Kentucky Knife Fight (Edwardsville, IL)
3 p.m. Hooten Hallers (Columbia, MO)
4 p.m. Nomo (Michigan poly-rhythmic, danceable goodness)
5 p.m. Beat Street (DJ Needles, DJ Alejan, DJ G-Wiz, Da Fly D-Ex)

Slackers (various locations; check its website)
*The stores will have live performances at the following stores:
St. Charles, Missouri
12 p.m. Serapis
1 p.m. Models Need Sleep
2 p.m. Ockum's Razor
3 p.m. Building Rome
4 p.m. Jailbox
5 p.m. Spelling Bee
7 p.m. Steve Ewing (of the Urge)
8 p.m. Aaron Mansfield

Glen Carbon, Illinois
5 p.m. Descending New Angels
6 p.m. The New Translation
7 p.m. Super Fun Yeah Yeah Rocketship

Columbia, Missouri
1 p.m. the Hanukkah Jones Band
5 p.m. Nonreturner
7 p.m. Steven Carrel & The Goldbugs
8 p.m. Warantula

P.S. As a special preview, go to the Marketing28 web site to see the artwork I designed for the new CD by The Adoring Heirs! They'll be selling a limited number of CDs at Euclid, as they get ready to have a mass pressing in the near future!

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

The Return Of BOB


Not sure if I should put this one in the work blog, or the music blog. here's a poster that was done by my marketing company, Marketing28. Thanks to Wil Mowrey, intern extraordinaire for his design on this one. Bob is a band that has been around for a while, and will be back at Cicero's on May 1 opening for my brother's band, The Adoring Heirs. See you there.

Monday, April 12, 2010

Do It For Frank.

Atoms For Peace Look Like They May Be OK!


Mauro Refosco.
Joey Waronker.
Nigel Godrich.
Flea.
Thom Yorke.

"Supergroup." Feh. Most of these highly touted groups can not compare to the original source bands. But there are exceptions, and this may be one of them.

Here's a fan-shot video of their song "Cymbal Rush". After watching, or hearing about, Radiohead's DVD "Meeting People Is Easy", where Thom especially seemed morose the entire time, it's a joy to see him enjoying himself. Hell, he's even shimmying across the stage, shaking that skinny English ass.

I'm looking forward to hearing the forthcoming release, and an opportunity to see the group live?

Supergrass Breaks Up

Yet another highly touted British band that never seemed to take off in the States, Supergrass have called it quits after nearly two decades. It's unfortunate, but it gives me an opportunity to share with you two songs that have been dear to my heart from their debut release, I Should Coco. First up are some versions of their first single, "Caught By The Fuzz". I'd play you the official video, but those dicks at the record company won't let me. Hey, dicks, maybe if you would have let bloggers share videos of Supergrass, they would have had more success. Anyhoo, here's a live version, and an acoustic one. The official version can be found here.


Their big single was "Alright", from the same album, and it's another good one. This one comes from the Youtube Underground Railroad, I can't believe that embedding was not disabled. The video's a bit too much like the Monkees with either a young Mick Jagger or that guy from Flight of the Conchords singing, but it's still a good one:

I wish I could say with great conviction that I'll miss the band, but they have always been like a fly trapped in amber for me, with these two songs always sounding punky pop fresh. And after that, nothing seemed to stick. Still, two songs more than either you or I will ever have. So thanks for that, Supergrass.

I'm Surprised Her Fingers Didn't Start Smoking. Or Crack Off From The Sheer Force And Speed.

Here is a version of "I've Got Rhythm" that you have never heard before. And I doubt anyone could duplicate it. Listen to the whole thing. About 3 minutes in things go off the path and into some amazing/startling playing:

Monday Morning Blues

Let's get this Monday going the way most folks feel, with Howling Wolf singing the blues. Specifically, 'How Many Years', a great live track from 1966. Sing it, man::

Sunday, April 11, 2010

A Night Out With Doctor Atomic


Last night I took Mrs. Old Skool for a night on the town to listen to the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra, and experienced quite a musical treat.

The evening started with a recognition of a local music teacher and a quick piece played by her third grade violin students See photo). I can't imagine being that young, standing there on the stage of Powell Hall, with a practically full house to play to. What a surreal experience that must have been for them, and they sounded great.

So, sorry, I'm going to sidebar here. The story has application to the Symphony performance, so we'll circle back to that soon. A few years ago I saw the Flaming Lips for the first time. It was in a tent, at SXSW, and I was about three feet from them. It was the first night of the festival, and little did I know how that performance would be the best of the nearly 5 days and nights of musical gluttony. It was a great experience, but we had peaked way too soon, still disoriented from landing on somewhat foreign soil, priming ourselves for a barrage of BBQ and Lonestars, not realizing that we were about to be blown completely away in a matter of hours, instead of days.

And so it happened when i heard the first piece of the night, 'Rapture' by Christopher Rouse. The best musical experience is when you know nothing about an artist, and you get completely blindsided with something you never expected to be so good. And man, I like me some 'Rapture'. Starting out sounding like Sigur Ros, and changing into a kaleidoscope of a joyous lost movie soundtrack, with some driving percussion, that was a complete surprise.

The next two pieces were enjoyable, but I was still thinking about 'Rapture', to tell you the truth.

The final featured piece, John Adams 'Doctor Atomic' symphony, was last on the bill, and the piece has somewhat become synonymous with the orchestra. They hosted the American debut of the final piece in 2008, and the composer dedicated it to conductor David Robertson. And the weekend concerts were warm-up as the symphony loads up the Econoline van and takes these pieces on a California tour. It's a modern piece without being a dissonant dose of 'it's good for you' medicine. The flow tells the story of the first testing of the atomic bomb and is lyrical enough for even this classical novice to follow along with.

The whole night was also part of the Saint Louis Symphony 'blogger night', bringing together disparate musical tastes and giving us the privilege to experience world-class music, to expand our range a bit. It's a great way for them to reach out and remind us that there are many forms of great music out there, and any one of us is welcome to join them.

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Cindy Und Bert Cover Der Black Sabbath

Und it is funny. What's up with the little dog?

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

My Favorite Monsters Of Folk Song: "Dear God"


I love this meditation on faith, with its questions and affirmations. Conflicted and very human. And the video, directed by Laurie Faggioni, has that home-made cosmic feel to match.

Sunday, March 28, 2010

Blitzen Trapper Coming To Off Broadway In June

Well, I may have to see if I can just live at Off Broadway this june. or maybe they will allow me to do odd jobs around the place to help pay for all the shows I'll be seeing there?

You'll first find me there on June 15, to see Mumford & Sons. I've already posted about them here, but you can also read about them on Paste's site, if you want to find out more about this up-and-coming band.

And then, six days later I will be back to see Blitzen Trapper, on Monday, june 21. I can not resist. The last time they were in town, November of 2008, I caught them at Vintage Vinyl, before they played an opening slot for Stephen Malkmus at the Pageant, and wished I could have caught them later, but commitments called. They were wonderful, even in the low-key record store setting. Their new album will be out on June 8 on Sub Pop, and you can download a free MP3 by going to their official site.

And then another six days later, just long enough time to re-charge the mind and wallet, I will be back to see Black Joe Lewis on Sunday, the 27th.

I eagerly await who I should be seeing there on July 3, six days after that concert. I'm thinking it will be good, no matter who is there...

Thursday, March 25, 2010

A Remembrance Of Alex Chilton

By now most of us are aware that Alex Chilton passed away recently. I didn't post anything about it, I'm not well-versed in his life, or music to add anything that others have already said. He certainly was an icon in the indie world, although most people on the street probably didn't recognize the name.

I came across this short eulogy given by Tennessee representative Steve Cohen and thought it was a fairly eloquent send-off to the man, and wanted to share it with you:

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Which Acts Had The Biggest Buzz At SXSW?

Before I get into this, it is important to note that "biggest buzz" does not always indicate "best act", but it is a good way to check out what may be some Next Big Thing. The first information shared here indicates who had the biggest spike in social media buzz during the fest: Fang Island.
And here's the top ten:
1). Fang Island
2). Neon Trees
3). XV
4). Oddisee
5). Jonna Lee
6). Matthew Mayfield
7). Evergreen Terrace
8). The Antlers
9). Phantogram
10). GZA


And the band that had the most fans overall, the number one act is NeverShoutNever, an indie/emo act with a new album out, and a pretty good video. Here's the top ten from this group:
1). NeverShoutNever
2). The xx
3). Wale
4). Broken Bells
5). Sum 41
6). Blair
7). The Temper Trap
8). Miike Snow
9). Local Natives
10). We are Scientists


Yoy can read more about the social media buzz here, if you are interested.

Black Cab Sessions: Laura Marling At SXSW

I'm posting this for two very good reasons:
1. It's a good song, especially if you let her get warmed up and a little into the song. Her voice becomes stronger and clearer each minute.
2. It was fun to see glimpses of Austin in the background, and made me a bit wistful. Too bad they didn't try to drive down 6th or Red River. But I'm sure those streets were closed off, full of reveling pedestrians.

The song, Rambling Man, is from her upcoming release I Speak Because I Can:

laura marling from Black Cab Sessions on Vimeo.

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Holy Cow! HUM Are Coming To STL!!!!!!


Click here for all the info! Old Rock House! Saturday! May 22! WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES ! (I'm excited).

Monday, March 15, 2010

Dave Grohl Really Really Likes Coffee

FRESH POT!
Thanks to Mark for the tip. Here's the proof:

Sunday, March 14, 2010

I Can Not resist: Lady Gaga Video: Telephone

This is by far the strangest mainstream video I have seen. Say what you will about Gaga, but she has a unique vision to what she does, and it is all on display in this video:

Part Tarantino, part bad prison movie, this is all strange. And did you notice all the product placements? And how do you get the smoking cigarette sunglasses?

Free Music Sunday


Praise the Lord, here's some links to free music:
Urban Outfitters will be at SXSW and has a twenty-five song sampler of the bands that will be playing at their day parties here.

NPR will also be at SXSW, and they have a free sampler of the bands they will be showcasing there.

Now, go start downloading, and enjoy!

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Of Montreal, Yo Gabba Gabba Help You Feel Better

Of Montreal stopped by kids show Yo Gabba Gabba to perform "Bananas Rice Applesauce Toast", telling kids how they can feel better if they are sick. Here they are now!

And here's Anthony Bourdain as a doctor, to add to the craziness:

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

SXSW, SXSW, SXSW: BAH HUMBUG!

Dear South By Southwest, I don't hate you; really I don't. It's just that we won't be seeing each other this year, and, well, it's bumming me out. Remember all the good times we've had together? The beautiful weather, wonderful BBQ, and the music? Sweet sweet music wherever I went, bands that came to the States just for this, never to be seen again (Hi Scroobius Pip!) playing their hearts out.

I promise you that I'll try to see you next year.

Dear Reader, are you going to see the lovely SXSW this year? Well, I don't hate you either. But I do feel like kicking you in the nuts just to make me feel better. I'm just kidding! Here are some day party posters, all gathered up for you. Some have great design, some not so much. But there sure is a lot of bands there. And it's the tip of the iceberg.




















Who knows, maybe I'll even plan out a fake itinerary, just to torture myself. Have fun out there, and remember to drink plenty of water, and don't throw your pepperonis on the street on Red River. It's gross when you realize what the stains are/what you are walking in...

Sunday, March 7, 2010

Mumford and Sons On Letterman

I had been hearing rumblings of this band, but until recently had no music to connect them with. They sound pretty good:

They'll be coming to St. Louis on June 15, a Tuesday, at Off Broadway. Might be worth checking out.

Here's more North American dates:
Thu 05/13/10
Montreal, QC Just For Laughs Cabaret
Fri 05/14/10
Cambridge, MA Middle East Downstairs
Sun 05/16/10
Philadelphia, PA Theatre Of The Living Arts
Tue 05/18/10
New York, NY Webster Hall
Thu 05/20/10
Washington, DC 9:30 Club
Fri 05/21/10
Cleveland, OH Beachland Ballroom & Tavern
Sat 05/22/10
Columbus, OH Wexner Center For The Arts
Mon 05/24/10
Chicago, IL Lincoln Hall
Tue 05/25/10
Minneapolis, MN Varsity Theater

Appearing at "Sasquatch! Music Festival"
Sat 05/29/10
Quincy, WA Gorge Amphitheatre

Sun 05/30/10
Vancouver, BC 560 Club
Mon 05/31/10
Portland, OR Aladdin Theater
Wed 06/02/10
San Francisco, CA Slim's
Thu 06/03/10
San Francisco, CA Great American Music Hall
Fri 06/04/10
Los Angeles, CA Music Box @ Fonda
Mon 06/07/10
Phoenix, AZ The Rhythm Room
Wed 06/09/10
Austin, TX Antone's
Thu 06/10/10
Dallas, TX House Of Blues

Appearing at "Bonnaroo Music Festival"
Sat 06/12/10
Manchester, TN Bonnaroo Music Festival

Mon 06/14/10
Bloomington, IN Bluebird Nightclub
Tue 06/15/10
St. Louis, MO Off Broadway Nightclub
Wed 06/16/10
Kansas City, MO The Record Bar

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Black Joe Lewis Postpones Off Broadway Show

Well, it is a bummer, but due to a death of one of the band's family members, the Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears show that was scheduled for Saturday was postponed until June. Toronto, Columbus, Chicage, and Lawrence, KS shows are also postponed.

Jeff, you have more time to recover from your surgery. If you are not better by June, then there is something really wrong with you.

Here they are performing on the Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson to hold us over:

Friday, February 26, 2010

My Friday Gift To You

Because I love you so:

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Did Anyone Even Know That Roger Taylor Had Put Out A Single?

That it came out last November? And that it is better than anything on that absolute crap Queen + Paul Rogers travesty? Huh.


What's that? Hearing him makes you want to hear some old Queen? And whatever I do, don't show any of that Paul rogers sh*t? Ah, I like you; you have good taste. For you then:





There you go, my lovelies. All for you.

Them Crooked Vultures: New Fang

Dave Grohl, you play those drums and I will watch. XXOOXX

Monday, February 22, 2010

Darn Tootin' I'd Go To This One



If all the dates weren't so dingdang far away:

Alice Cooper & Rob Zombie Tour!
It's a bill that fans of horror and hard rock could only dream of until now: For the first time ever, the "gruesome twosome" — ALICE COOPERand ROB ZOMBIE — will play an exclusive limited run of North American tour dates beginning April 26 at the MTS Center in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.

Rob Zombie commented, "The dream or nightmare comes true! Me and The Coop have been talking about touring together for about 15 years and finally the moment is here. This will be without a doubt a rock 'n' roll spooktacular for all the cool ghouls."

Alice Cooper added, "I'm looking forward to these concerts with Rob. It's sort of like Dracula vs. Frankenstein, we're like this generation’s classic monsters. When we're not onstage frightening audiences, we'll be backstage trying to scare each other."

ROB ZOMBIE/ALICE COOPER - "The Gruesome Twosome Tour"dates:

Apr. 26 - Winnipeg, MB - MTS Centre
Apr. 27 - Saskatoon, SK - Credit Union
Apr. 28 - Edmonton, AB- Rexall Place
Apr. 29 - Calgary, AB - Corral
May 01 - Vancouver, BC - Pacific Coliseum
May 02 - Kennewick, WA - Toyota Center
May 04 - Casper, WY - Casper Events Center

Tickets go on sale February 23.

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Kyle Gass Of Tenacious D Coming To The Firebird


Trainwreck, Kyle's other band, will be at the Firebird on Tuesday March 16. And our own Superfun Yeah Yeah Rocketship is opening! You can go here to listen to some songs, like Brodeo, and El Mustachio, both from the debut "The Wreckoning".

Friday, February 5, 2010

Paul Simon: Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes

Filmed in Zimbabwe in 1987, this looks and sounds like everyone was making a joyful noise. A great way to start the weekend:

Makes me smile. I hope your weekend is full of smiles, too.

Rapid Record Review: Vampire Weekend, Contra


Paul Simon's Graceland, 2010.

Thursday, February 4, 2010

The Dead Weather Prep New Album, Bad Company's Paul Rodgers To Sing


NO NO NO N-- oh, hell, I'm just kidding. Jack White has more taste than that.

They are working on a new album, and they are touring. The St. Louis date is April 24 at the Pageant. Here's the whole tour date list-o-matic:
03-17 Auckland, New Zealand - Logan Campbell Centre
03-19 Melbourne, Australia - Forum Theatre
03-23 Brisbane, Australia - Tivoli
03-26 Sydney, Australia - Enmore Theatre
03-29 Perth, Australia - Metro City
03-31 Tokyo, Japan - Zepp
04-15 San Francisco, CA - The Fillmore
04-17 Indio, CA - Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival
04-18 Las Vegas, NV - The Pearl Concert Theater
04-20 Albuquerque, NM - Sunshine Theater
04-22 Tulsa, OK - Cain's Ballroom
04-23 Bonner Springs, KS - Sandstone *
04-24 St. Louis, MO - The Pageant
04-26 Lake Buena Vista, FL - House of Blues
04-27 Birmingham, AL - WorkPlay Soundstage
04-28 Memphis, TN - Minglewood Hall
04-30 Austin, TX - Stubb's Waller Creek Ampitheater
05-01 Houston, TX - House of Blues
05-02 New Orleans, LA - New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival

Meanwhile, Meg White is planning a nice garden for the spring, maybe some Burpee tomatoes, and a little strawberry patch...