Wednesday, December 30, 2009

More Great Videos Of 2009

Here are a couple more sent in by readers, just in time to ring in the new year. First up is Modest Mouse's "Whale Song", with some interesting stop-motion:

"Whale Song" for Modest Mouse from Bent Image Lab on Vimeo.


And Dan Deacon's "Paddling Ghost" has a nice DIY feel to it:

There you go, both better than Time Magazine's top videos, especially the Kanye one. Well done!

Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Tonight: Pale Divine At The Pageant

I've been looking forward to this reunion show. Here's their video for "My Addiction", from their Atlantic Records debut. And a live video from Kennedy's, when they were still known as the Eyes. And where I saw them approximately (using Old Skool mathematical equating and a quick consultation with Stephen Hawkings) 1,643 times:



You can read about what everyone has been up to at the RFT here.

Monday, December 28, 2009

Mark Gormley Fans Rejoice! A New Video For The New Year!

A new video will be released on January 8! And will feature Mark, and a somewhat good-looking girl walking on the beach eating Cheeto's! Damn product placement. But hey, Mark needs to stay in the lavish lifestyle he's grown accustomed to, so I guess it's OK. Here's the teaser video:

Now if you'll excuse me, I'm off to the gas station to pick up some Cheeto's...

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Devo Sends Seasons Greetings To All Old Skool Readers

Here's a little something I convinced my friends in Devo to whip up just in time for the holidays:

Monday, December 21, 2009

White Stripes Tour Doc "Under Great White Northern Lights" Coming In March


I wonder if Jack and Meg will ever do any more White Stripes stuff. In the back of my head I keep thinking that ship has sailed, and that's why Jack has so many other projects going. Seems to me that I heard about Meg having stage fright and not wanting to tour anymore, but it could be that I imagined it in a sweat lodge as I was trying to call upon the great spirits to come upon me to reveal the Great Secrets, or dreamt it after eating spicy food.

More than likely this is some kind of "contractual obligation" deal, but it sure is better than a live CD, or a greatest hits.

And for all you rich folk out there, you can also have the whole thing as part of a mega-box set that will have the DVD of the film, a DVD of the Stripes' 10th anniversary show, a live album (A-HA!), a 208-page book, a silk screen print, and a body part of choice from one of the Stripes. That last part may or may not be true, but there's only one way to find out. Pre-order here.

Friday, December 18, 2009

Tim Conway's Circus Elephant Story

One of the great shows of the 70's was the Carol Burnett Show. And one of the best parts about it was watching how much fun everyone was having, especially when they lost it and were trying not to laugh. Yesterday, in honor of Tim Conway's birthday, my friend Jeff sent this, and it's too great to not post:

Happy birthday, Tim. Thanks for making me laugh until I was crying.

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Alicia Keys Featuring Stephen Colbert: Empire State Of Mind

Stephen Colbert is at the top of his game. Here he even makes this Alicia Keys song better. Love the suit-hoodie:

Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Ministry: Thieves

Hard to believe that this track, and the album it came from, A Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste, is 20 years old. One of the heaviest concerts I have ever seen was Ministry at the old Mississippi Nights. There were so many guitarists, and people were hanging on the chain-link fence that was in front of the stage. It was awesome, and feral.

Also hard to believe that I was 23 when I saw that concert. Someone bring me my walker... AND GET OFF MY LAWN!

Monday, December 14, 2009

Snoop Dogg's Take On "How The Grinch Stole Christmas"

Man, I hate to admit it, but that Jimmy Fallon is getting better. His interview with Snoop was much better than Conan's just earlier last week. Here's Snoop, adding his own special magic to this timeless tale:

Sunday, December 13, 2009

Time Magazine's Five Best Videos Of 2009

1. This must be true, because it was in Time magazine.
2. You are about to be on the cultural tip, part of the popular vernacular. Congratulations, and please use your powers for good.
3a. If you release a kick-ass video in December, you are going to be screwed and over-looked.
3b. Entertainment Weekly has already published a retrospective of all the celebrities that passed away in 2009. If you are a celebrity, please stay alive through the end of the year (see 3a).

#5 Lady Gaga "Bad Romance"
This strange person was everywhere this year. A break-out year, whether you like her or not. For the record, I think she has some good songs, but also think she is dangerously close to believing her own hype and either self-destructing or becoming a parody of herself. Madonna, you have been out-Madonna-ed, with a touch of "Total Eclipse Of The Heart". Also: Ahhh! Hairless cat! Bad synchronized dancing! Breasts that shoot sparks!


#4 Kanye West "We Were Once A Fairytale
Speaking of an artist that has become a parody. Note to Kanye: shut up and let the music do the talking, fool. A strange video. On the list because Spike Jonze had Kanye act like an ass, and for no other reason. Here's the first part, if you want to see it. I found the whole thing unbearable.

And the second part:

Really, Time magazine, cultural barometer? Really?

#3 Land Of Talk "It's OK"
NOW we're getting somewhere! A video for a band that I've never heard of before. This must be good.

And surprise, it is! Wow, pretty stunning.

#2 Depeche Mode "Wrong"
Disturbing, and a great video. Please watch here, since they are afraid of us ripping off the song and then the record company drones will not make their numbers and have to figure out another way to make obscene amounts of profit. Note to the big record companies: YOU LOST. THE LONG TAIL WON. SUCK IT.

#1 Raekwon "House Of Flying Daggers"


Well, what did you think? I've posted a lot of videos this year that I thought were better than most of these. Here are three:

Gnarls Barkley - Who's Gonna Save My Soul from Chris Milk on Vimeo.



WOOD from mc bess on Vimeo.





What are some of your favorites? Let us know, and we'll post them if they pass the Old Skool Muster.

Thursday, December 10, 2009

Silver Trembling Fetus Christmas Ornament

Ah, it felt good writing that. Looking for that perfect gift for that special someone? Wayne Coyne from the Flaming Lips has just what the doctor ordered:

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Erin McKeown And Jill Sobule: Live At Off Broadway

Here's a little treat. I wanted to go to this show to see Jill Sobule, being disappointed that I missed out on a house show she was at a while back, but it was not to be.

And then I started listening to Erin McKeown after being turned on to her by NPR's All Songs Considered, and went to look her up. You know, see if there are some videos out there of her, decide if she would be someone I'd like to see live sometime.

And the first video I clicked on after getting to Erin's site was from Off Broadway, from less than a month ago (11/30/09), with Jill and Erin singing together a song they made up about St Louis! So here it is, the sound is a little overloaded at times. Enjoy:


I guess I won't be seeing her back here soon. Ah, bittersweet, this find. But that's a lot of coincidental connect the dots, don't you think?

Monday, November 30, 2009

The Best Cold War Kids Song

I have said it, and thus it is so. Let none dispute this claim (as if any of you comment anyway. It's lonely here in the Old Skool Fortress Of Solitude):

Blur Have New Live DVD Coming Out

Looks interesting, and beyond the usual "just a concert" release. It's called No Distance Left To Run, which is also one of Old Skool's favorite Blur songs, a melancholy treat that sounds like its title.

Jimmy Fallon Performs "Fresh Prince" Theme Song. As Neil Young.

Not sure why I haven't seen this out on the interweb, but it's a fun(ny) impersonation, and an inspired song to use. After the commercial, because NBC gotta buy baby a new pair of shoes:

Random Music News: The Who, NIN, Reo Spedwagon

Hello, and welcome back after that wonderful Thanksgiving holiday. Here are a couple of items to start the week:
1. The Who will be playing during the Super Bowl halftime.

2. As some of you know, I decided to not spend a million dollars on Craigs List to get Nine Inch Nails tix when they were in Chicago. I know, I know: But it's their last tour EVER! Right.
This just in, NIN is selling all of their tour equipment on eBay. I guess they were serious about this whole "last tour" thing. Here's what they say on their site:
We've been going through the NIN touring and studio rigs and are getting rid of a large selection of gear and equipment the band is no longer in need of. It's being listed on eBay. We do not know which (if any) tour these items are from unless specified, nor can we get any items autographed, so please do not ask. Hundreds of items will be listed over the next several weeks such as guitars, keyboards, amplifiers, drums, staging, anvil cases, cables, rack/outboard gear, guitar effects, and pedal boards. Check the eBay page regularly for new listings, or follow @nineinchnails on Twitter for updates. More information can be found in the descriptions of each item.

Here's the link, in case you were looking for that perfect Christmas gift. For me.

3. REO Speedwagon have a Christmas album. WTF. Get that for the aunt that always gets on your nerves but thinks she's kinda hip. When does Andrew WK release his Party Hard Christmas Party disc? Is this a sign that the end is near?

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Monday, November 23, 2009

Rapid Record Review: Them Crooked Vultures


The only problem with being good is when you are expected to be great.

Monday, November 16, 2009

Flaming Lips' Wayne Coyne Talks To NME

Good stuff, it's interesting to hear him talk about the performance. He seems like a genuinely nice guy:


And here's their new video. It's NSFW, with a lot of nakedness. If you have ever wanted to see Wayne's weiner, now's your chance.

The Jesus Lizard To Play NYE At Metro In Chicago


So, Old Skool is crackling with excitement now that he has procured tickets to see The Jesus Lizard at Metro in Chicago the day after Thanksgiving. And then this info comes my way: They are playing sold-out shows that Friday and Saturday, and now a third date has been added for New Years Eve!

Wow! Can you imagine drinking champagne from David Yow's shoe at the stroke of midnight? Tasty! This could be your chance. Get a ticket soon, because this is a sure sell-out.

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Halloween Comes Late To The Spooky Old Skool Mansion

Here's Pearl Jam covering Devo's biggest hit, "Whip It" for Halloween.

Better than that piece of hard candy old Mrs. Crabtree gives out to kids she doesn't recognize each year, dontcha think? And it's nice to see that Eddie has lightened up and is enjoying himself. Crack that whip!

Thanks to Jeff, with his floppy bunny ears, for sending the link in.

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Rapid Record Review: The Flaming Lips: Embryonic

A beautiful brick wall. Bring the hammer and chisel, it will be worth it.

Rapid Record Review: Kid Cudi: Man On The Moon

Laziness disguised as laid-back. Boring.

God's Favorite Band Returns To Off Broadway


Yes, that's right, the Asylum Street Spankers are returning to Off Broadway this Wednesday, to play selections off their new release, (Surprise!) "God's Favorite Band". The release is an album of swinging gospel numbers, and will comprise the first set, with the second set covering some of the more... less gospel-y... numbers. Should be a fun time for a Wednesday.

Not sure if I'm going to be able to make it or not, but don't let that stop you. Go ahead, have some fun without Old Skool. He'll be at home warming up some milk to help him get his 8.25 hours of blissfully uninterrupted sleep. Just don't do anything O.S. wouldn't do...

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Tonight: Neko Case At The Pageant

Should be a good show. I still remember seeing her at Off Broadway, and her voice was amazing. Here she is singing "Maybe Sparrow" to get you warmed up for the show:


And "This Tornado loves You" on Letterman:

Don't expect her to be wearing a black dress, though, She seems to be more comfortable in jeans and an old t-shirt.

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Fragile Porcelain Mice Call It A Day


After what, like 20 years of great music? FPM have decided to cease as a band. Anyone who saw their live shows know what a powerhouse they were. Even if you were not a huge fan of that type of music you would be foolish to not recognize their live power and the impact they had on St. Louis music. From their site:

Greetings, friends.

At this time of year we usually take the opportunity to inform you, our fans, about our upcoming Thanksgiving show. This year, however, is different. Instead, we have two serious announcements about the future of Fragile Porcelain Mice.

First, because of various circumstances, we will not be performing our annual Thanksgiving show this year. This news is a great disappointment to us--not just because we won't be performing, but because we look forward to meeting up and chatting with all of our loyal fans who have celebrated the holiday of turkey and rock with us over the years.

Second, after much discussion we have decided that Fragile Porcelain Mice will no longer continue as a creative entity. This means that FPM will no longer be writing, recording, or performing new material. The door is still open for some shows; however, we have no plans to perform together in the near future.

We hope you understand. We are grateful for all your support throughout the many years. We hope to see you again.


A door closes.

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Free Energy: Power Pop For A Cloudy Wednesday

Free Energy is a band from Philadelphia and will put out their debut full-length next year. The song "Free Energy" is a nice little slice of pop heaven. Please pay close attention to the guitar at the beginning: Is that some AC/DC riff cribbed from Who Made Who? It works, but is an interesting little twist:

"Free Energy" from Free Energy on Vimeo.


Next year, when their debut comes out, you can say "Oh, yeah, those guys. Yeah, the nuclear physicists in the fall out shelter of the Old Skool Fortress of Musical Radiology turned me on to them last year." Or something like that. Because just by reading this blog you are/become smarter than the average drooling music fan. So you can come up with your own pithy comeback.

Monday, October 26, 2009

It's Going To Be A Jam-Packed Tuesday

I've mentioned this before, but Tuesday in the Lou is a great night. First, Jenny Owen Youngs will be here opening for Mae at Off Broadway. I've posted about her previously here and here.

And, also on Tuesday, White Rabbits return to the Firebird. Old Skool musicological scientists may need to take a nap Tuesday afternoon. We suggest you do the same. And I'll see you out and about. Here's the band on Letterman, after their first album came out. It's good. They've gotten better.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Symphony Of Science

That Carl Sagan song with the autotune is stuck in my head. So thanks to Mark for today's autotuned afterschool special: "We are all connected". There's more, all from Melody Sheep, but nothing compares to the two I've shared. The Billy Mays one gets old, frankly. Enjoy.

Good vibes, man. Good vibes.

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

One More Jesus Lizard

Because it's my blog and I can do whatever I want:

The Jesus Lizard

This is for Jeff. He's going to see The Jesus Lizard in Portland. I am jealous.


My favorite TJL song:


Here's the schedule, no STL, bastards:
Thu 10/22/09
Portland, OR McMenamins Crystal Ballroom

Fri 10/23/09
Seattle, WA Neumos

Sat 10/24/09
Vancouver, BC Commodore Ballroom

Thu 11/05/09
Carrboro, NC Cat's Cradle

Fri 11/06/09
Atlanta, GA Variety Playhouse

Appearing at "Fun Fun Fun Fest"
Sat 11/07/09
Austin, TX Waterloo Park

Thu 11/12/09
Toronto, ON Phoenix Concert Theatre

Fri 11/13/09
Montreal, QC Le National

Sat 11/14/09
Boston, MA
Paradise Rock Club

Mon 11/16/09
New York, NY
Fillmore New York At Irving Plaza

Tue 11/17/09
New York, NY
Fillmore New York At Irving Plaza

Wed 11/18/09
Philadelphia, PA Starlight Ballroom

Thu 11/19/09
Washington, DC 9:30 Club

Fri 11/20/09
Baltimore, MD Sonar

Tue 11/24/09
Milwaukee, WI Turner Hall Ballroom

Wed 11/25/09
Pontiac, MI Crofoot Ballroom

Fri 11/27/09
Chicago, IL Metro / Smart Bar

Sat 11/28/09
Chicago, IL Metro / Smart Bar

HMMMMMMMMMMMMM... Chicago...

Friday, October 16, 2009

Townes Van Zandt: Waitin' Round To Die

A while back, I posted Johnny Cash's video for his cover of NIN's "Hurt", a video that I felt had great emotional power. While not a true video, this clip, taken from the documentary "Be Here To Love Me: A Film About Townes Van Zandt" is powerful stuff indeed.

Watch the old black gentleman, Seymour Washington, as Townes sings "Waitin' Round To Die", as he is truly moved by the music and lyrics. This isn't some staged episode of a crap reality show. It IS reality. When music can do that it is true, not some manufactured crap designed to appeal to the masses, but something that speaks so powerfully you can't help but feel a release of emotion.



Townes died on New Years Day 1997 from years of substance abuse, and never really found mainstream fame, although there are many musicians that site him as a a major influence on their work. Musician Steve Earle, a close friend, once said Van Zandt was "the best songwriter in the whole world and I'll stand on Bob Dylan's coffee table in my cowboy boots and say that." His most famous song was "Poncho and Lefty", covered by Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard.

Probably not the best (meaning happy goofy fun!) Friday video, but sometimes the blues can make a person come through to the other side feeling joy. It's the magic of music, and it has a strong pull.

Thursday, October 15, 2009

Free Music. Legal, Free Music.


It's out there. And I though it would be nice on this cold dreary day to give you the links to go get some. If you want.

For a limited time Amazon is giving away a song from the new Swell Seasons. Get it here.

CMJ Music Marathon is getting ready to happen in NYC October 20-24. Insound is offering a free MP3 mix tape to get folks all fired up. Here you go. Thanks Insound!

And thank you to Urban Outfitters. I don't think they have anything in my old skool size, except for these MP3's, they are one size fits all!

Monday, October 12, 2009

As If This Wasn't Creepy Enough

Now, even creepier! Thanks Youtube!

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Johnny Cash: Hurt

While we're on the subject of regret, and shows that were missed. Johnny Cash played at Emo's the first time I went to SXSW. I found out about it the next day, the newspapers calling it the "worse-kept secret" of the festival. I wish someone would have told me. From what I understand, mohawked punks danced with the old folks, and everyone had a great time.

This video is one of the saddest I've ever watched. And if not the saddest, then certainly the most emotional. If you know of one that has even more of an emotional pull to it, I'd love to know. But I might have to watch it late at night when no one's around, because if it's more emotional than this one I will probably need to be alone. What a perfect cover, and at a perfect time in the man's life. Powerful:

NIN: Head Like A Hole

So I was in Chicago a while back, and really wanted to go see the Nine Inch Nails shows there: Small venue, last tour, blah blah blah. But the tickets on Craig's List were about 200 bones each and I would have had to shell out for two since my lovely bride was with me. We passed, too costly, bad timing, etc. Seeing this live video, makes me think it would have been worth even more to see them. •sigh•

Thursday, October 1, 2009

Avett Brothers On Letterman: All Part Of The World Domination Plan

1. Write passionate songs
2. Tour relentlessly
3. Get noticed by Rick Rubin
4. Sign to his label
5. Tour the sheds with Dave Matthews Band
6. Have Rick Rubin produce new release
7. Release major label debut after independent releases build grassroots following
8. Appear on Letterman

Check, check, and triple check. Ah, boys, I'll tell them I knew you when. From Off Broadway, opening for BR5-49, to the Sheldon, to the Pageant and beyond.

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

New Avett Brothers Out Today

"I and Love and You"
I predict a big hit. On first listen the sound feels fuller without feeling like they have betrayed their true selves. I'm happy that Rick Rubin showed some sensitivity to their sound and didn't try to mess with it, rather augment their sound.

Go see them live. They don't hold anything back. The official version of this video has that old "embedding denied because the Record Company is a group of Greedy Pigs who don't understand how things work in the new age", so we'll see how long before this link disappears. Until that time, enjoy:

New Alice Cooper Song, Just In Time For Halloween!


And fitting, since the new song is called "Keepin' Halloween Alive". It's out now on iTunes, and it's a decent song. Long-time readers of this blog know that I'm a HUGE Alice fan, so I admit I'll buy just about anything he puts out. Here's the word from Alice, direct from his official press release:

Alice delivers the song with the garage-punk snarl he is best known for, ensuring that it will soon be a Halloween classic. “At home my family all gathers around an old spooky tree decorated with skulls and bones in the living room, and we exchange gifts,” says Cooper. “It’s our holiday. We even all have matching black-and-orange Halloween sweaters! I wanted a theme song for people like me, and for us Halloween never ends. In the chorus I say, ‘I’m keepin’ Halloween alive, baby, 3–6–5’... and I mean it!”

“Keepin’ Halloween Alive,” was co-written and co-produced by Cooper with Piggy D. (a member of Rob Zombie’s band), who played rhythm guitar/backup vocals. Dave Pino (Powerman 5000) is featured on lead guitar, and David Spreng (Bob Dylan, The Bravery) on drums. Of the recording, Cooper says, “We played it live as a band to capture the vibe. It was the easiest work I think any of us have ever done, not to mention a blast!”


It should be noted, according to the attached poster graphic, that the song is "Number 1!". How that is possible, since it just came out, is beyond me. But I'm not telling the 61-year-old shock rocker what he can or can not claim. Are you?

Here's the current US tour dates for his (mostly) annual fall trek. No STL? Bah, humbug:
Tue 09/29/09
Richmond, VA The National

Wed 09/30/09
Durham, NC Durham Performing Arts Center

Fri 10/02/09
Clearwater, FL Ruth Eckerd Hall

Sat 10/03/09
Pompano Beach, FL Pompano Beach Amphitheatre

Sun 10/04/09
Fort Myers, FL Barbara B. Mann Perf. Arts Hall

Mon 10/05/09
Daytona Beach, FL Peabody Auditorium

Wed 10/07/09
Montgomery, AL Montgomery Performing Arts Centre

Fri 10/09/09
Marksville, LA Paragon Casino Resort

Sat 10/10/09
Biloxi, MS Beau Rivage Theatre

Sun 10/11/09
Houston, TX Verizon Wireless Theater

Mon 10/12/09
Dallas, TX Palladium Ballroom

Fri 10/16/09
Stateline, NV Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Sat 10/17/09
West Wendover, NV Peppermill Concert Hall

Mon 10/19/09
Idaho Falls, ID Idaho Falls Civic Auditorium

Wed 10/21/09
San Francisco, CA Warfield Theatre

Fri 10/23/09
Las Vegas, NV The Orleans Hotel & Casino

Sat 10/24/09
Las Vegas, NV The Orleans Hotel & Casino

Sun 10/25/09
Las Vegas, NV The Orleans Hotel & Casino

Tue 10/27/09
Fresno, CA William Saroyan Theatre

Wed 10/28/09
Los Angeles, CA Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE

Fri 10/30/09
Indio, CA Fantasy Springs Resort Casino & Special Events Ctr.

Monday, September 28, 2009

Carl Sagan: "A Glorious Dawn"

This one has been going around the interweb, and it's one of the better uses of autotune, IMO. It draws me in, listening to it more than one time:

Thanks to Mark for being on the edge of the wave and sending this to me first.

Jenny Owen Youngs Update: Good News/Bad News- She's Coming To STL

So after I posted last about Jenny, I checked to see if she is touring, and GREAT NEWS, SHE IS! Specific to my little corner of the world, she's coming to Off Broadway on Tuesday, October 27, opening for the band mae.

But BAD NEWS, she's coming the same night that White Rabbits are playing at the Firebird. Oh cruel gods of fate, why do you taunt me? Ah, perhaps I can pull a Beatle Bob and hit Off Broadway first, catch Jenny, and then hightail it to the Firebird to see those White Rabbit boys. Yessss, it just might work.

Here's her whole schedule:
Tue 10/13/09
Louisville, KY Skull Alley

Wed 10/14/09
Carrboro, NC Cat's Cradle

Thu 10/15/09
Richmond, VA The Downstairs Lounge

Fri 10/16/09
Baltimore, MD Sonar

Sat 10/17/09
New York, NY Blender Theatre At Gramercy

Sun 10/18/09
Asbury Park, NJ Asbury Lanes

Mon 10/19/09
Cambridge, MA Middle East Downstairs

Tue 10/20/09
Philadelphia, PA Trocadero Theatre


Appearing with Mae
Thu 10/22/09
Denver, CO Marquis Theater

Fri 10/23/09
Kansas City, MO The Record Bar

Sat 10/24/09
Minneapolis, MN Triple Rock Social Club

Mon 10/26/09
Fargo, ND The Aquarium

Tue 10/27/09
St. Louis, MO Off Broadway Nightclub


Wed 10/28/09
Chicago, IL Reggie's Rock Club

Thu 10/29/09
Newport, KY The Historic Southgate House

Fri 10/30/09
Akron, OH Musica

Sat 10/31/09
Grand Rapids, MI Mixtape Cafe

Sun 11/01/09
Columbus, OH Skully's Music Diner

Mon 11/02/09
Pittsburgh, PA Club Cafe

Appearing with Mae
Tue 11/03/09
Philadelphia, PA North Star Bar

Wed 11/04/09
Philadelphia, PA North Star Bar

Thu 11/05/09
Cambridge, MA Middle East Downstairs

Fri 11/06/09
New York, NY Fillmore New York At Irving Plaza

Sat 11/07/09
South Hackensack, NJ School of Rock East

Sun 11/08/09
Washington, DC Black Cat

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Jenny Owen Youngs: F**k Was I Thinking VIDEO

Jenny has a great voice. I recently downloaded her latest called "Transmitter Failure" and it is one of the under-rated quiet little gems of 2009. I first heard her through this song, though, from the 2005 release "Batten The Hatches". About an unwanted pregnancy?
"Love grows in me like a tumor
a parasite bent on devouring its host"
Great opening line, don't you think?

I'm going to download all of "Batten The Hatches" now, and see if the rest is as good as this song.

OK, here's "If I Didn't Know" from her latest:

It's hard to stop at one.

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

New Flaming Lips Video: I Can Be A Frog

I CAN NOT WAIT for the new Flaming Lips. Here's a video from the new one with backing animal noises by Karen O of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. And did you catch them playing "Convinced Of The Hex" on the Colbert Report a week or so back? SWEEEEET.
The Flaming Lips "I Can Be A Frog"

Siversun Pickups Video: Substitution

Here they are, with the best-looking game of musical chairs that I've ever seen:

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Sending This One Out To All The Ladies (And The Men Who Love Them) Out There

So bad it's delicious. My long-distance dedication to you:

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

PLAY: stl Music Festival Starts Tomorrow

Wristbands are only $15 and that icludes a free burrito from Chipotle, and a free Schlafly beer. Mmmmmm... beer.
Thursday night features the Antlers. Here they are performing for the politically correct NPR listeners. It's almost 20 minutes, so pull up a chair and relax:


The place to be on Friday is at Cicero's, The Life and Times, Republic Tigers, and more:
7:15 p.m. | Starlume | Springfield, Mo. | alt/indie
8:10 p.m. | The Orbz | St. Louis, Mo. | wave
9:05 p.m. | The Life and Times | Kansas City, Mo. | indie rock
10:05 p.m. | The Makeshift Gentlemen | St. Louis, Mo. | wave/dance
11:00 p.m. | The Republic Tigers | Kansas City, Mo. | indie rock
12:00 a.m. | One Lone Car | St. Louis, Mo. | pop/rock
Here's the Republic Tigers, doing the song "Made Concrete":
the Republic Tigers - Made Concrete


There are many STL bands sharing stages, and it's a great time to hear some new bands, and others that you've been meaning to check out. See you there.

Monday, September 14, 2009

Jim Carroll, R.I.P.: People Who Died

Teddy sniffing glue, he was 12 years old
Fell from the roof on East Two-nine
Cathy was 11 when she pulled the plug
On 26 reds and a bottle of wine
Bobby got leukemia, 14 years old
He looked like 65 when he died
He was a friend of mine


Jim Carroll died of a heart attack in his home on Friday. He was 60 years old, and you can read a full obit about him here.
Most famous for the above song, he also wrote the book/journal "The Basketball Diaries" which was made into a movie with Leonardo DiCaprio.

Friday, September 11, 2009

My Dog Is A Jedi

Sorry, one more for friday. I must be feeling a little giddy right now:

Happy Friday From The Jonas Brothers


Go ahead. You'll like it.

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Fever Ray: Seven Video


I think of the album this comes off of as a 2008 release, but it really came out this year, in January. A lot has happened since then, so maybe that's why it feels like a distant memory. Anyway, Fever Ray's self-titles release is one of my favorites of the year. It doesn't hit you over the head but becomes hypnotic. For some reason I feel that I'm listening to what Native American music would have sounded like if we had all merged into one big happy family.

Fever Ray is the solo debut of Karin Elisabeth Dreijer Andersson, lead singer for the duo The Knife.

Ghostland Observatory, Free Show At The Pageant Thanks To Southern Comfort

It's October 15, and it is indeed free. Go here for more information, and to get your tickets. You must be 21 and will be sent your code to get in 24 hours before the event via your mobile phone. Here's a video to let you know what you're getting yourself into:

Should be fun! I saw them in Chicago a few years ago at a sold-out show (was it the Metro?) and they were a lot of fun, and had LOTS of strobe lights. This is part of Southern Comfort's "Undercover Series", so it may be a little different as the band plays homage to some of their influences. The band will be in other cities, also, so check that web site for more info.

Monday, September 7, 2009

Son Volt Returns To The Pageant, St Louis

Can't believe I missed this. Surely it's been in the local blogs, but there it is: Son Volt returns to the Pageant on November 6. they're supporting the latest release, American Central Dust. Here they are performing Cocaine and Ashes at the Great American Music Hall in San Francisco. Where, it should be noted, I saw Uncle Tupelo once back in the day:

Here's the rest of the dates:
SEPTEMBER 10th, 2009 EXIT/IN, NASHVILLE, TN

SEPTEMBER 11th, 2009 VARIETY PLAYHOUSE, ATLANTA, GA

SEPTEMBER 12th, 2009 VISULITE, CHARLOTTE, NC SON VOLT

SEPTEMBER 13th, 2009 CAT'S CRADLE, CARRBORO, NC

SEPTEMBER 15th, 2009 9:30 CLUB, WASHINGTON, DC

SEPTEMBER 16th, 2009 WORLD CAFE LIVE, PHILADELPHIA, PA

SEPTEMBER 17th, 2009 IRVING PLAZA, NEW YORK, NY

SEPTEMBER 18th, 2009 THE EGG, ALBANY, NY

SEPTEMBER 19th, 2009 PEARL STREET, NORTHAMPTON, MA

SEPTEMBER 21st, 2009 HIGHER GROUND, BURLINGTON, VT

SEPTEMBER 22nd, 2009 PARADISE ROCK CLUB , BOSTON, MA

SEPTEMBER 24th, 2009 THE MAJESTIC , DETROIT, MI

SEPTEMBER 25th, 2009 VIC THEATER , CHICAGO, IL

SEPTEMBER 26th, 2009 PABST THEATER , MILWAUKEE, WI

SEPTEMBER 27th, 2009 FIRST AVENUE, MINNEAPOLIS, MN

NOVEMBER 5th, 2009 BLUE NOTE, COLUMBIA, MO

NOVEMBER 6th, 2009 THE PAGEANT, ST. LOUIS, MO

NOVEMBER 7th, 2009 THE LYRIC, OXFORD, MS

NOVEMBER 8th, 2009 GRANT STREET DANCE HALL, LAFAYETTE, LA

NOVEMBER 11th, 2009 CONTINENTAL CLUB, HOUSTON, TX

NOVEMBER 12th, 2009 THE GRANADA, DALLAS, TX

NOVEMBER 13th, 2009 FLOORE'S COUNTRY STORE, HELOTES, TX

NOVEMBER 14th, 2009 ANTONE'S, AUSTIN, TX

NOVEMBER 17th, 2009 MINGLEWOOD, MEMPHIS, TN

NOVEMBER 18th, 2009 WORKPLAY, BIRMINGHAM, AL

NOVEMBER 19th, 2009 40 WATT, ATHENS, GA

NOVEMBER 20th, 2009 THE HANDLEBAR, GREENVILLE, SC

NOVEMBER 21st, 2009 RHYTHM & BREWS, CHATANOOGA, TN

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

Acid Girls: The Numbers Song VIDEO

Artistic, sexy, disturbing, instrumental, well-done:

Acid Girls - The Numbers Song from IHEARTCOMIX Records on Vimeo.

Monday, August 31, 2009

Them Crooked Vultures Live From A Cellphone

Weeeellllllllllll, I wish the quality was better. But we are talking about the newest supergroup that does NOT feature Jack White playing the maracas. This wonderful ensemble features Josh Homme from the Queens Of The Stone Age, Dave Grohl from Nirvana/Foo Fighters, Alain Johannes from QOTSA, and some older gent who goes by the name John Paul Jones and was purportedly in some little regional group called Led Zeppelin. This is from the opening number on their super-secret opening slot for the Arctic Monkeys, whose new release Josh had a hand in producing. From August 26, 2009.

Sorry for the cell phone quality. But this is too interesting to not post:

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

PLAY: stl Music Festival Returns Sept 16-19


This is a great way to support local and regional music, and check out a lot of up-and-coming bands. Wristbands are only $15, AND you get a free Chipotle burrito and drink. Click here for more info. Me, I'm looking forward to seeing the Life And Times again on Friday at 10:30 at Cicero's. Trust me, they bring it live.

PLAY:stl Music Festival & Conference Lineup

Cicero’s (6691 Delmar Blvd.)

Wednesday, September 16 (kickoff party)
8:30 p.m. GreyMarket Tampa, Fla. indie rock
9:30 p.m. Red Collar Durham, N.C. roots rock
10:30 p.m. Copperview St. Louis, Mo. alternative rock

Thursday, September 17
7:30 p.m. GreyMarket St. Louis, Mo. indie/pop
8:30 p.m. TBD
9:30 p.m. Thom Donovan Tampa, Fla. indie rock
10:30 p.m. The Antlers Brooklyn, N.Y. indie/ambient
11:30 p.m. The Constant St. Louis, Mo. pop/rock

Friday, September 18
7:30 p.m. Old Lights St. Louis, Mo. indie rock
8:30 p.m. Starlume Springfield, Mo. alt/indie
9:30 p.m. The Orbz St. Louis, Mo. wave
10:30 p.m. The Life and Times Kansas City, Mo. indie rock
11:40 p.m. The Makeshift Gentlemen St. Louis, Mo. wave/dance

Saturday, September 19
7:30 p.m. The Winter Sounds Chicago, Ill. indie pop
8:30 p.m. Eikon Nashville, Tenn. indie rock
9:30 p.m. Ellee Ven Los Angeles, Calif. electro-pop
10:30 p.m. Owen Chicago, Ill. singer-songwriter
11:50 p.m. Fresh Heir St. Louis, Mo. rock

Blueberry Hill’s Duck Room (6504 Delmar Blvd.)

Thursday, September 17
7:30 p.m. Cavalry Chicago, Ill. rock
8:30 p.m. Midwest Avengers St. Louis, Mo. rock/hip-hop
9:30 p.m. Luna Halo Nashville, Tenn. indie rock
10:30 p.m. Samantha Crain & the Midnight Shivers Shawnee, Okla. indie folk
11:50 p.m. Wild Tiger St. Louis, Mo. rock

Friday, September 18
7:30 p.m. The Armed Forces Nashville, Tenn. rock/pop
8:30 p.m. Ravenhill St. Louis, Mo. rock
9:30 p.m. My Instant Lunch Augusta, Ga. alternative rock
10:30 p.m. Red Collar Durham, N.C. roots rock
11:30 p.m. The Upright Animals St. Louis, Mo. rock

Saturday, September 19
7:30 p.m. Halo Stereo Nashville, Tenn. rock
8:30 p.m. Option//Control St. Louis, Mo. pop/rock
9:30 p.m. Holding Mercury Chicago, Ill. rock
10:30 p.m. The Effects Nashville, Tenn. rock
11:30 p.m. LucaBrasi St. Louis, Mo. rock

Blueberry Hill’s Elvis Room (6504 Delmar Blvd.)

Thursday, September 17
7:30 p.m. Brothers Lazaroff St. Louis, Mo. Americana/rock
8:30 p.m. Savage Sun St. Louis, Mo. hip-hop
9:30 p.m. Nato Caliph Champaign, Ill. hip-hop
10:30 p.m. Nite Owl St. Louis, Mo. hip-hop
11:30 p.m. Scratch Track Kansas City, Mo. hip-hop

Friday, September 18
7:30 p.m. Mama Rogers St. Louis, Mo. rock/funk
8:30 p.m. Love in October Chicago, Ill. pop
9:30 p.m. The States Brooklyn, N.Y. rock
10:30 p.m. The Moves Chicago, Ill. pop
11:30 p.m. Via Dove St. Louis, Mo. rock/pop

Saturday, September 19
7:30 p.m. Curb Service Champaign, Ill. hip-hop/techno
8:30 p.m. We’re Into Survival Starkville, Miss. punk rock
9:30 p.m. Say It With a Smile Champaign, Ill. alt-pop
10:30 p.m. Odis Dallas, Texas rock
11:30 p.m. Ruby Dog St. Louis, Mo. blues/funk

560 Music Center (560 Trinity)

Thursday, September 17
7:00 p.m. Go Motion Omaha, Neb. wave/indie
8:00 p.m. Starters DJs Chicago, Ill. electronic/DJ
9:00 p.m. The Hood Internet Chicago, Ill. electronic/indie/DJ

Friday, September 18
7:00 p.m. Exercise (Eleven Magazine) St. Louis, Mo. indie rock
8:00 p.m. Say Panther (Eleven Magazine) St. Louis, Mo. indie rock
9:00 p.m. Republic Tigers Kansas City, Mo. indie rock
10:10 p.m. One Lone Car St. Louis, Mo. pop/rock

Saturday, September 19
7:00 p.m. TBA
8:00 p.m. (The Gargoyle) St. Louis, Mo. indie rock
9:00 p.m. Capgun Coup (The Gargoyle) Omaha, Neg. indie/surf/punk
10:00 p.m. TBA

Racanelli’s Cucina (6655 Delmar Blvd.)

Thursday, September 17
7:30 p.m. Brett Daniels St. Louis, Mo. country/acoustic
8:30 p.m. Anni Rossi Chicago, Ill. singer-songwriter
9:30 p.m. The States (acoustic) Brooklyn, N.Y. acoustic rock
10:30 p.m. Dear Future Pinckneyville, Ill. indie rock
11:30 p.m. Superfun Yeah Yeah Rocketship St. Louis, Mo. eclecticFriday, September 18

Friday, September 18
7:30 p.m. Karate Coyote Columbus, Ohio pop-rock
8:30 p.m. Aaron Mansfield St. Louis, Mo. pop
9:30 p.m. Brighton MA Chicago, Ill. rock/indie
10:30 p.m. Illphonics St. Louis, Mo. hip-hop
11:30 p.m. Hazard to Ya Booty St. Louis, Mo. funk/rock

Saturday, September 19
7:30 p.m. Models Need Sleep St. Louis, Mo. singer-songwriter
8:30 p.m. I Like Snaps Vandalia, Ill. indie rock
9:30 p.m. Strix Vega Arcata, Calif. indie/prog
10:30 p.m. Chip Greene Nashville, Tenn. alt/singer-songwriter
11:30 p.m. The Morleys St. Louis, Mo. rock

Chipolte (6318 Delmar Blvd.)

Thursday, September 17
7:15 p.m. Danielle Cales Valparaiso, Ind. acoustic pop
7:55 p.m. Coriz Chicago, Ill. R&B
8:35 p.m. Noƫlle Hampton Austin, Texas Americana/folk rock
9:10 p.m. Beth Bombara St. Louis, Mo. singer-songwriter

Friday, September 18
7:15 p.m. Reign Lee Hong Kong rock/songwriter
7:55 p.m. Vijoy Rao St. Louis, Mo. singer-songwriter
8:35 p.m. Van Risseghem Tulsa, Okla. alternative pop
9:10 p.m. Jen ‘n’ Juice St. Louis, Mo. singer-songwriter

Saturday, September 19
7:15 p.m. Matt Hoffer Chicago, Ill. acoustic rock
7:55 p.m. Abi Robins St. Louis, Mo. folk
8:35 p.m. Sean Renner St. Louis, Mo. singer-songwriter
9:10 p.m. Michael Fitzgerald St. Louis, Mo. acoustic rock

Vintage Vinyl (6610 Delmar Blvd.)

Thursday, September 17
7:00 p.m. Star and Micey Memphis, Tenn. pop/rock
8:00 p.m. Corey Saathoff Band St. Louis, Mo. Americana/rock
9:00 p.m. Sheila Shahpari St. Louis, Mo. pop/rock

Friday, September 18
7:00 p.m. Dustin Plegge St. Louis, Mo. pop/acoustic
8:00 p.m. Red Card Royale St. Louis, Mo. rock
9:00 p.m. Brad Fox and the Usual Suspects St. Louis, Mo. rock
10:00 p.m. Vicky Reykavik, Iceland rock

Changes In The So Many Dynamos Camp

Well, this makes me sad.

So Many Dynamos have been having a good year, by all accounts. A new release on a known label. Appearances at KEXP and Daytrotter, to name a few. The hottest (literally. The A/C was broken) release party I've ever been to at the Firebird. Tours, tours and more tours, including opening up for Harvey Danger, among others.

But it is with regret that I tell you that guitar/keyboard/vocalist Ryan Wasoba is leaving the band. How that affects things, is hard to say. But a change in a band that is as tight as SMD has to affect the overall chemistry one way or the other. He is being replaced with Nathan Bernaix from STL band Target Market. You can read more about Ryan's decision here. He has good, personal reasons, and there doesn't seem to be any animosity among band members, so I wish him and the band all the best.

Here's some upcoming dates, I assume with the new member of SMD:
Sep 18 2009 7:00P
Pygmalion Music Festival 2009 @ Blue’s BBQ Urbana, Illinois
Sep 19 2009 12:00P
Bouncefest 2009 - Mills Quad @ Millikin University Decatur, Illinois
Sep 25 2009 8:00P
Beaumont Club (w/ Republic Tigers) Kansas City, Missouri
Sep 26 2009 8:00P
Mojo’s (w/ Republic Tigers) Columbia, Missouri

Monday, August 17, 2009

Guitar Hero Van Halen: Wolfgang, not Michael on bass

Should this not surprise me? And yet it still does. A bit of bile rises up.

OK, Eddie, I get it: Michael betrayed you somehow by playing music with Sammy Hagar after you got a divorce from him and went down the rabbit hole with that horrible VHIII deal with the Extreme guy. But if you're playing all the classics, shouldn't you have the classic bass player? What if you didn't kiss and make up with David Lee Roth when your career seemed to be over? Would this game feature whoever the singer of VH was at the time? Bruce Dickinson from Iron Maiden? No, no. Too big. Need someone from a smaller band, someone to control. How about the singer from the 80's band Black-n-Blue? Or a tribute band singer that you saw on Youtube?

Can you imagine if they ever did any Journey, Styx or REO Speedwagon songs on GH? oh boy, what a mess that would be. But then again, nobody knows who any of those guys were anymore, I guess.

Ed, you have serious issues, man. Here's the proof. FYI, Wolfie was not even born when these songs came out.

Track list:
* Ain’t Talkin Bout Love
* And The Cradle Will Rock
* Atomic Punk
* Beautiful Girls
* Cathedral (solo)
* Dance The Night Away
* Eruption (solo)
* Everybody Wants Some
* Feel Your Love Tonight
* Hang ‘Em High
* Hear About It Later
* Hot For Teacher
* Ice Cream Man
* I’m The One
* Jamie’s Cryin
* Jump
* Little Guitars
* Loss Of Control
* Mean Street
* Panama
* Pretty Woman
* Romeo Delight
* Running With The Devil
* So This Is Love
* Somebody Get Me A Doctor
* Spanish Fly (solo)
* Unchained
* You Really Got Me

Friday, August 14, 2009

Goodbye Les Paul

He had been hospitalized in February 2006 when he learned he won two Grammys for an album he released after his 90th birthday, “Les Paul & Friends: American Made, World Played.”

“I feel like a condemned building with a new flagpole on it,” he joked.

As an inventor, Paul helped bring about the rise of rock ‘n’ roll and multitrack recording, which enables artists to record different instruments at different times, sing harmony with themselves, and then carefully balance the “tracks” in the finished recording.

With Ford, his wife from 1949 to 1962, he earned 36 gold records and 11 No. 1 pop hits, including “Vaya Con Dios,” “How High the Moon,” “Nola” and “Lover.” Many of their songs used overdubbing techniques that Paul the inventor had helped develop.

from Yahoo News



Wednesday, August 5, 2009

I Miss Hum

It's true. I miss them dearly. Seeing them live, that warm super-loud Hum sound, vibrating beer bottles right off the table; the fact that almost every song had the word "she" in it. Come back, come back.

This one starts out very much like Slint, before kickin' it in:

Downward is heavenward is criminally underrated:



And here's the sweet rock sauce live:

Sigh...

Weird Al Takes On The White Stripes

And Charles Nelson Reilly!

All in conjunction with Jibjab. It's a winning combo, especially seeing Al as Jack and Meg. Say what you want about him, but Weird Al has consistently put out fun parodies, and has managed to stay in the public eye with his music for what, over 20 years? Let's see if Katie Perry has that kind of staying power. Oh, and if you go to Jibjab, you can put yourself (or a friend or two) into the video. Cool beans.
Try JibJab Sendables® eCards today!

Monday, August 3, 2009

More MP3's Than You Can Shake A Stick At


Do you like checking out new music? I know I do. A great way to do that is to head on over to the Yewknee Summer Mix Series, where different folks submit themed mixes for the summer. There is some great stuff, and some that's not so much, but it's a cool way to check out some tracks that you have been wondering about, or hear something that takes you by surprise.

There's enough there to keep you damn kids busy and off the streets for a while. So get on over there. Hate to break the news, but the end of summer is right around the corner...

Tuesday, July 28, 2009

The Cutest Version Of "Folsom Prison Blues" Ever

Tell me I'm wrong. Show me a cuter version. I dare you.

So Many Dynamos On KEXP

My friend Fred, a loyal KEXP listener, informed me that SMD would be playing on KEXP recently. As you know, I have much man-love for this band. Here are some videos from their in-studio appearance.


Concerts Under The Radar


It's the dog days of summer. Not much new going on out there, so I hope you forgive me, dear readers, for not checking in as often as I'd like. But these tidbits were good enough to post, and seem to be escaping STL. If one were to look west to the fair college town of Columbia, one would notice some very interesting concerts at the Blue Note:

Andrew Bird with St. Vincent on Wednesday, September 30.
And the Decemberists with Laura Veirs on Wednesday, October 7.

True, both mid-week shows. But also shows that are more than likely NOT coming to STL anytime soon, as they have already stopped by. So get on your horse and ride.

Here's the full tour schedule of the Decemberists recently announced leg. And yes, they are still playing The Hazards Of Love in it's entirety for these shows:
9/20: Flynn Theater, Burlington, VT
9/21: Wellmont Theater, Montclair, NJ
9/23: The Norva, Norfolk, VA
9/24: Charlottesville Pavilion, Charlottesville, VA
9/25: Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, Asheville, NC
9/27: Ryman Auditorium, Nashville, TN
9/29: St. Augustine Amphitheater, St. Augustine, FL
9/30: Hard Rock Live, Orlando, FL
10/2: House of Blues, Houston, TX
10/3: Austin City Limits Festival, Austin, TX
10/4: Cain's Ballroom, Tulsa, OK
10/6: University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY
10/7: Ninth St. Fall Fest, Columbia, MO
10/18: Treasure Island Music Festival, San Francisco, CA

Friday, July 24, 2009

Obits: Pine On

Something to disturb for your weekend:

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Darth MC Hammer

Oh, yeah, that's funny.

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Dear Def Leppard Concert-Goers

Boy, we're not getting any younger, are we? We're all a little rounder, and a lot grayer. Hate to say it, but it might be time to stop dressing like teenagers for most of us. That includes you, 50-something bandana-top-wearing chubby lady. Yeeesh.

Dear Brett Michaels: You're fun to watch, a true performer, not much on the singing, though. Good thing Rock Of Love came along, don't you think?

Dear Cheap Trick: As long as you're rocking, and Bun E. is laying down that sweet drum sound, I'll go see you. Thanks for making the new songs short.

Dear Phil Collen: Boy, you are ripped. If I looked like you, I'd never wear a shirt, either. And for that I resent you. You make all the ladies realize that their men don't have to be fat just because they're getting a little older. Because of you, I'm going to the gym today. Bastard.

Saturday, July 18, 2009

Def Leppard: This Monday


I admit it: I'm looking forward to this show. Oh, my street cred drops whenever some of my past pleasures come out, but I'm not ashamed to admit my love of some good ol' hard rock. I remember when Def Leppard first came around I told my guitar teacher that if he could he should buy stock in the band, that they were going to HUGE. And they were, for quite a while.

Def Leppard, Poison, AND Cheap Trick. It's an 80's flashback! Some sniffing around has provided the researchers in the Old Skool Archive Library with an earlier set list from this tour. Looking at the list, it's easy to see why they were so popular, with hit after hit. One would assume that it will not vary much, so here's what you can tentatively expect:

01. Rocket
02. Animal
03. Let's Get Rocked
04. Foolin'

05. Mirror Mirror
06. Nine Lives
07. Love Bites
08. (Bass Solo)
09. Rock On
10. Two Steps Behind
11. Bringin' on the Heartbreak

12. Switch 625
13. Hysteria
14. Armageddon It
15. Photograph

16. Pour Some Sugar on Me
Encore:
17. Rock of Ages

And don't even get me started on Cheap Trick... Yes, this will be very good indeed...